Home Imperial cities of Morocco

Imperial cities of Morocco

Morocco Imperial cities


Imperial cities of Morocco are the four cities that have been the capital of Morocco during the Moroccan dynasties: Fes, Marrakesh, Rabat and Meknes.


Imperial Fes - Morocco

Fes was the capital of several dynasties : The Idrisid (974), Marinides (1244), Wattasid (1465) and Alaouite (1666).

Get Further Details About Fes


Imperial Marrakesh - Morocco

Marrakesh was also the capital under four dynasties : The Almoravid (1071), Almohad (1147), Saadi (1511) and as second capital for the Marinides and Alaouite.

Get Further Details About Marrakesh


Imperial Rabat - Morocco

Rabat was founded by the Caliph Yaqub al-Mansur in order to become his capital city in 1150. The city became the capital under the Alaouite Sultan Mohammed III.

Get Further Details About Rabat


Imperial Meknes - Morocco

Founded by the Alaouite Sultan Ismail ibn Ali in 1672, it was the capital of Morocco from 1672 to 1727.

Get Further Details About Meknes

Join our Mailing List and receive electronic invitations and news about cultural events in Morocco.

Morocco Map none
Rabat 34° 1′ 31″ N, 6° 50′ 10″ W
Fes 34° 3′ 0″ N, 4° 58′ 58.8″ W
Marrakesh 31° 37′ 48″ N, 8° 0′ 0″ W
Meknes 33° 53′ 42″ N, 5° 33′ 17″ W